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INTRODUCTION

The Subcommittee on Oversight of the House Committee on
Ways and Means has scheduled a hearing on June 6, 1989, on H.R.
2528 (introduced by Subcommittee Chairman Pickle and Messrs.
Schulze, Anthony, Flippo, Dorgan of North Dakota, Ford of
Tennessee, and Shaw on June 1, 1989). H.R. 2528 ("Improved
Penalty Administration and Compliance Tax Act of 1989") would
revise several major groups of civil penalties in the Internal
Revenue Code: (A) information reporting penalties; (B) accuracy
penalties; (C) preparer, promoter, and protester penalties; and
(D) delinquency penalties.

This document,^ prepared by the staff of the Joint
Committee on Taxation, provides a description of the bill,
including present law, provisions of the bill, and effective
dates.

^ See 135 Congressional Record H 2267-2272 (June 1, 1989).
This document is identical to the Summary Explanation of the
bill's provisions printed in the Record .

^ This document may be cited as follows: Joint Committee on
Taxation, Description of H.R. 2528 ( Improved Penalty
Administration and Compliance Tax Act of 1989) (JCX-11-89), June
5, 1989.



DESCRIPTION OF H.R. 2528

(IMPROVED PENALTY ADMINISTRATION AND COMPLIANCE TAX ACT OF 1989)

A. Information Reporting Penalties

Present Law

Any person that fails to file an information return with
the Internal Revenue Service on or before the prescribed filing
date is subject to a $50 penalty for each failure, with a
maximum penalty of $100,000 per calendar year. In addition, any
person that fails to provide a copy of an information return (a
"payee statement") to a taxpayer on or before the prescribed due
date is subject to a penalty of $50 for each failure, with a
maximum penalty of $100,000 per calendar year. If a person
fails to include all of the information required to be shown on
an information return or a payee statement or includes incorrect
information, then a penalty of $5 may be imposed with respect to
each such failure, with a maximum penalty of $20,000 per
calendar year.
Stricter penalty provisions apply in the case of interest and
dividend returns and in the case of intentional failures to
comply with the information return requirements.

A penalty may also be imposed for each failure to include a
correct taxpayer identification number on a return or statement
and for each failure to furnish a correct taxpayer
identification number to another person. The amount of the
penalty that may be imposed is either $5 or $50 for each
failure, depending on the nature of the failure.

Explanation of Provisions

Failure to file correct information returns

The bill modifies the information return penalties
provided under present law in order to encourage persons to
file correct information returns even though such returns are
filed after the prescribed filing date.

Under the bill, any person that fails to file a correct
information return with the Internal Revenue Service on or
before the prescribed filing date is subject to a penalty that
varies based on when, if at all, a correct information return is
filed. If a person files a correct return after the prescribed
filing date but on or before the date that is 30 days after the
prescribed filing date, the amount of the penalty is $15 per
return, with a maximum penalty of $75,000 per calendar year. If

a person files a correct information return after the date that
is 30 days after the prescribed filing date but on or before
August 1, the amount of the penalty is $30 per return, with a



maximum penalty of $150,000 per calendar year. If a correct
return is not filed on or before August 1 of any year, the
amount of the penalty is $50 per return, with a maximum penalty
of $250,000 per calendar year.

The bill also provides a de minimis exception that a'pplies
to incorrect information returns that are corrected on or before
August 1. Under the exception, if an information return is
originally filed without all of the required information or with
incorrect information and the return is corrected on or before
August 1, then the original return is treated as having been
filed with all of the correct required information. The number
of information returns that may qualify for this exception for
any calendar year is limited to the greater of (1) 10 returns or
(2) one-half of one percent of the total number of information
returns that are required to be filed by the person during the
calendar year.

The bill maintains the present-law rules for failures that
are due to intentional disregard of the filing requirement.

Failure to furnish correct payee statements

Under the bill, any person that fails to furnish a correct
payee statement to a taxpayer on or before the prescribed due
date is subject to a penalty of $50 per statement, with a
maximum penalty of $100,000 per calendar year. If the failure
to furnish a correct payee statement to a taxpayer is due to
intentional disregard of the requirement, the bill generally
provides a penalty of $100 per statement or, if greater, 10
percent of the amount required to be shown on the statement,
with no limitation on the maximum penalty per calendar year.

Failure to comply with other information reporting
requirements

Under the bill, any person that fails to comply with other
specified information reporting requirements on or before the
prescribed date is subject to a penalty of $50 for each failure,
with a maximum penalty of $100,000 per calendar year. The
information reporting requirements specified for this purpose
include any requirement to include a correct taxpayer
identification number on a return or statement and any
requirement to furnish a correct taxpayer identification number
to another person.

Waiver , definitions and special rules

The bill provides that any of the information reporting
penalties may be waived if it is shown that the failure to
comply is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect.
The subcommittee intends that for this purpose, reasonable cause
exists if significant mitigating factors are present, such as
the fact that a person has a history of complying with the



information reporting requirements.

The bill also repeals the special information reporting
requirements that apply to payments of interest and dividends;
the bill makes those payments subject to the same general rules
applicable to other types of information returns.

Uniform requirements for returns on magnetic media

The bill provides that uniform magnetic media requirements
apply to all information returns filed during any calendar year.
The bill accomplishes this by making statutory the requirement
currently contained in IRS regulations that persons fii ng more
than 250 information returns file those returns on magnetic
media. The bill makes this requirement applicable to all types
of information reports. Thus, the bill repeals the provision of
present law that requires persons filing more than 50
information returns relating to payments of interest, dividends,
and patronage dividends to file all such returns on magnetic
media

.

Study of procedures to prevent mismatching

The bill requires the General Accounting Office, in
consultation with the Treasury Department, to conduct a study on
whether the Internal Revenue Service should be permitted to
disclose taxpayer identity information to a person that has
filed an information return. The study should consider whether,
if the name and taxpayer identification number of any person
that is set forth on an information return do not correspond to
the name and taxpayer identification number of such person
contained on the records of the Internal Revenue Service, the
Internal Revenue Service should be permitted to disclose to the
person that has filed such information return such information
as may be necessary to determine the correct name and taxpayer
identification number. The study should also consider
alternative means of correcting the mismatch between names and
taxpayer identification numbers that involve the least amount of
disclosure of confidential taxpayer identity information. A
report on the study, together with any recommendations, is to be
submitted to the Congress by June 1, 1990.

Study of service bureaus

The bill requires the General Accounting Office, in
consultation with the Treasury Department, to conduct a study of
whether persons engaged in the business of transmitting
information returns or other documents to the Internal Revenue
Service on behalf of other persons should be subject to
registration or other regulation. A report on the study,
together with any recommendations, is to be submitted to the
Congress not later than July 1, 1990.



Effective Dates

The information reporting provisions of the bill generally
apply to information returns and payee statements the due date
for which (determined without regard to extensions) is after
December 31, 1989.



B. Accuracy Penalties

Present Law

Negligence penalty

If any part of an underpayment of tax required to be shown
on a return is due to negligence or disregard of rules or
regulations, a penalty may be imposed equal to 5 percent of the
total amount of the underpayment. An underpayment of tax that
is attributable to a failure to include on an income tax return
an amount shown on an information return is treated as subject
to the negligence penalty absent clear and convincing evidence
to the contrary.

Fraud penalty

If any part of an underpayment of tax required to be shown
on a return is due to fraud, a penalty may be imposed equal to
75 percent of the portion of the underpayment that is
attributable to fraud.

Substantial understatement penalty

If the correct income tax liability of a taxpayer for a
taxable year exceeds that reported by the taxpayer by the
greater of 10 percent of the correct tax or $5,000 ($10,000 in
the case of most corporations), then a substantial
understatement exists and a penalty may be imposed equal to 25
percent of the underpayment of tax attributable to the
understatement. In determining whether a substantial
understatement exists, the amount of the understatement is
reduced by any portion attributable to an item if (1) the
treatment of the item on the return is or was supported by
substantial authority, or (2) facts relevant to the tax
treatment of the item were adequately disclosed on the return or
on a statement attached to the return. Special rules apply to
tax shelters.

Valuation penalties

If an individual, personal service corporation, or closely
held corporation underpays income tax for any taxable year by
$1,000 or more as a result of a valuation overstatement, then a
penalty may be imposed with respect to the amount of the
underpayment that is attributable to the valuation
overstatement. A valuation overstatement exists if the
valuation or adjusted basis of any property claimed on a return
is 150 percent or more of the correct value or adjusted basis.
The amount of the penalty that may be imposed varies between 10,
20 and 30 percent of the underpayment attributable to the
valuation overstatement depending on the percentage by which the
valuation claimed exceeds the correct valuation. Similar



penalties may be imposed with respect to (1) an underpayment of
income tax that is attributable to an overstatement of pension
liabilities and (2) an underpayment of estate or gift tax that
is attributable to a valuation understatement.

Explanation of Provisions

Eliminate overlap

The bill reorganizes the accuracy penalties into a new
structure that operates to eliminate any overlap of the
penalties

.

Accuracy- re la ted penalty

The accuracy-related penalty, which is imposed at a rate of
20 percent, applies to the portion of any underpayment that is
attributable to (1) negligence; (2) any substantial
understatement of income tax; (3) any substantial valuation
overstatement; (4) any substantial overstatement of pension
liabilities; and (5) any substantial estate or gift tax
valuation understatement.

1

.

Negligence

If an underpayment of tax is attributable to negligence,
the negligence penalty applies only to the portion of the
underpayment that is attributable to negligence rather than, as
under present law, to the entire underpayment of tax.
Negligence includes any careless, reckless, or intentional
disregard of rules or regulations. In addition, the bill
repeals the present-law presumption under which an underpayment
is treated as attributable to negligence if the underpayment is
due to a failure to include on an income tax return an amount
shown on an information return.

2

.

Substantial understatement of income tax

The accuracy-related penalty that applies to the portion of
an underpayment that is attributable to a substantial
understatement of income tax is the same as the substantial
understatement penalty provided under present law with three
principal modifications. First, the rate is lowered to 20
percent. Second, the subcommittee intends that the list of
authorities upon which taxpayers may rely is to be expanded to
include proposed regulations, private letter ratings, technical
advice memoranda, actions on decisions, general counsel
memoranda, information or press releases, notices, and any other
similar documents published by the Internal Revenue Service in
the Internal Revenue Bulletin. In addition, the list of
authorities is to include General Explanations of tax
legislation prepared by the Joint Committee on Taxation (the
"Blue Book"). Third, the bill requires the Internal Revenue
Service to publish not less frequently than annually a list of



positions for which the Internal Revenue Service believes there
is no substantial authority. The purpose of this list is to
assist taxpayers in determining whether a position should be
disclosed in order to avoid the substantial understatement
penalty.

3. Substantial valuation overstatement , substantial
overstatement of pension liabilities , and
substantial estate or gift tax valuation
understatement

The penalty that applies to the portion of an
underpayment that is attributable to a substantial valuation
overstatement is generally the same as the valuation
overstatement penalty provided under present law with five
principal modifications. First, the bill extends the penalty to
all taxpayers. Second, a substantial valuation overstatement
exists if the value or adjusted basis of any property claimed on
a return is 200 percent or more of the correct value or adjusted
basis. Third, the penalty is to apply only if the amount of the
underpayment attributable to a valuation overstatement exceeds
$5,000 ($10,000 in the case of most corporations). Fourth, the
amount of the penalty for a substantial valuation overstatement
is 20 percent of the amount of the underpayment if the value or
adjusted basis claimed is 200 percent or more but less than 400
percent of the correct value or adjusted basis. Fifth, the bill
provides that this penalty is doubled if the value or adjusted
basis claimed is 400 percent or more of the correct value or
adjusted basis. The bill also provides similar modifications to
the penalty for overstatements of pension liabilities and the
penalty for estate or gift tax valuation understatements.

Fraud penalty

The fraud penalty, which is imposed at a rate of 75
percent, applies to the portion of any underpayment that is
attributable to fraud.

Definitions and special rules

The bill provides special rules that apply to each of the
penalties imposed under the new structure. First, the bill
provides that no penalty is to be imposed if it is shown that
there was reasonable cause for an underpayment and the taxpayer
acted in good faith. The enactment of this standardized waiver
criteria is designed to permit the courts to review the
assertion of penalties under the same standards that apply in
reviewing additional tax that the Internal Revenue Service
asserts is due.

The bill also provides that an accuracy-related or fraud
penalty is to be imposed only if a return has been filed. This
is intended to improve the coordination between these penalties.
Under present law, a negligence or fraud penalty may be imposed



in the case of a failure to file a return.

Finally, the bill repeals the higher interest rate that
applies to substantial underpayments that are attributable to
tax-motivated transactions.

Effective Date

The accuracy provisions of the bill generally apply to
returns the due date for which (determined without regard to
extensions) is after December 31, 1989.
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C. Preparer, Promoter, and Protester Penalties

Present Law

Return preparer penalties

An income tax return preparer is subject to a penalty of
$100 if any part of an understatement of tax on a return or
claim for refund is due to the return preparer's negligent or
intentional disregard or rules and regulations. In addition, an
income tax return preparer is subject to a penalty of $500 if
any part of an understatement of tax on a return or claim for
refund is due to the return preparer's willful attempt in any
manner to understate tax. An income tax return preparer is also
subject to a penalty of $25 for each failure to (1) furnish a
copy of a return or claim for refund to the taxpayer; (2) sign
the return or claim for refund; or (3) furnish his or her
identifying number.

Penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters

Any person who organizes, assists in the organization of,
or participates in the sale of any interest in, a partnership or
other entity, any investment plan or arrangement, or any other
plan or arrangement, is subject to a penalty if in connection
with such activity the person makes or furnishes a false or
fraudulent statement or a gross valuation overstatement. The
amount of the penalty equals the greater of $1,000 or 20 percent
of the gross income derived or to be derived by the person from
the activity. It is unclear under present law whether the term
"activity" refers to each sale of an interest in a tax shelter
or whether the term activity refers to the overall activity of
promoting an abusive tax shelter.

Penalty for aiding and abetting the understatement of tax
liability

Any person who aids, assists in, procures, or advises with
respect to the preparation or presentation of any portion of a
return or other document under the tax laws which (1) the person
knows will be used in connection with any material matter
arising under the tax laws, and (2) the person knows will (if so
used) result in an understatement of- the tax liability of
another person is subject to a penalty equal to $1,000 for each
return or other document ($10,000 in the case of returns and
documents relating to the tax of a corporation).

Frivolous income tax return penalty

Any individual who files a frivolous income tax return is
subject to a penalty of $500.
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Sanctions and costs awarded by courts

If it appears to the Tax Court that (1) proceedings before
it have been instituted or maintained primarily for delay, (2)
the taxpayer's position is frivolous, or (3) the taxpayer has
unreasonably failed to pursue administrative remedies, the Court
may award damages not to exceed $5,000 to the United States.

Explanation of Provisions

Return preparer penalties

The bill revises the present-law penalties that apply in
the case of an understatement of tax that is caused by an income
tax return preparer. First, the bill provides that if any part
of an understatement of tax on a return or claim for refund is
attributable to a position for which there was not a realistic
possibility of being sustained on its merits and if any person
who is an income tax return preparer with respect to such return
or claim for refund knew (or reasonably should have known) of
such position, then that return preparer is subject to a penalty
of $250. The subcommittee intends that imposition of this
penalty not lead to an automatic referral to the Internal
Revenue Service Director of Practice. The subcommittee believes
that the Internal Revenue Service should exercise discretion in
selecting the specific cases that are referred to the Director
of Practice. In addition, the bill provides that if any part of
an understatement of tax on a return or claim for refund is
attributable to a willful attempt by an income tax return
preparer to understate the tax liability of another person or to
any reckless or intentional disregard of the income tax law by
an income tax return preparer, then the income tax return
preparer is subject to a penalty of $1,000.

The return preparer penalties that apply to each failure to
(1) furnish a copy of a return or claim for refund to the
taxpayer, (2) sign the return or claim for refund, and (3)
furnish his or her identifying number are increased to $50 and
the total penalties imposed for any type of failure for any
calendar year is limited to $25,000.

Penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters

Under the bill, the amount of the penalty imposed for
promoting abusive tax shelters equals the lesser of $1,000 or
100 percent of the gross receipts derived or to be derived by
the person from such activity. In calculating the amount of the
penalty, the organization of an entity, plan or arrangement and
the sale of each interest in an entity, plan, or arrangement
constitutes a separate activity.

Penalty for aiding and abetting the understatement of tax
liability
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The bill amends the penalty for aiding and abetting the
understatement of tax liability by imposing the penalty in cases
where the person aids, assists in, procures, or advises with
respect to the preparation or presentation of any portion of a
return or other document if (1) the person knows or has reason
to believe that the return or other document will be used in
connection with any material matter arising under the tax laws,
and (2) the person knows that if the portion of the return or
other document is so used, an understatement of the tax
liability of another person would result. In addition, the bill
provides that a penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters is
not to be imposed on any person with respect to any document if
an aiding and abetting penalty is imposed on such person with
respect to such document.

Frivolous income tax return penalty

The bill increases the penalty for filing frivolous income
tax returns from $500 per return to $1,000 per return.

Sanctions and costs awarded by courts

The bill authorizes the Tax Court to impose a penalty not
to exceed $25,000 if a taxpayer (1) institutes or maintains a
proceeding primarily for delay, (2) takes a position that is
frivolous, or (3) unreasonably fails to pursue available
administrative remedies. The subcommittee intends that the
increased penalty (above $5,000) apply primarily (but not
exclusively) to tax shelter cases, where the $5,000 maximum
provided under present law appears to be ineffective in
deterring taxpayers from taking frivolous positions.

The bill also authorizes the Tax Court to require any
attorney or other person permitted to practice before the Court
to pay excess costs, expenses, and attorney's fees that are
incurred because the attorney or other person unreasonably and
vexatiously multiplied any proceeding before the Court.

Effective Dates

The modifications to the return preparer penalties apply to
documents prepared after December 31, 1989. The modifications
to the penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters and the aiding
and abetting penalty apply to activities after December 31,
1989. The modification to the frivolous income tax return
penalty applies to returns filed after December 31, 1989. The
modifications to the court-awarded sanctions apply to
proceedings pending on, or commenced after, December 31, 1989.
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D. Delinquency Penalties

Present Law

Failure to file

A taxpayer who fails to file a tax return on a timely basis
is subject to a penalty equal to 5 percent of the net amount of
tax due for each month that the return is not filed, up to a
maximum of 5 months or 25 percent. The net amount of tax due is
the excess of the amount of the tax required to be shown on the
return over the amount of any tax paid on or before the due date
prescribed for the payment of tax.

Failure to make timely deposits of tax

If any person who is required to deposit taxes imposed by
the Internal Revenue Code with a government depositary fails to
deposit such taxes on or before the prescribed date, a penalty
may be imposed equal to 10 percent of the amount of the
underpayment, unless it is shown that such failure is due to
reasonable cause and not willful neglect. The amount of the
underpayment for this purpose is the excess of the amount of the
tax required to be deposited over the amount of the tax, if any,
deposited on or before the prescribed date.

Explanation of Provisions

Failure to file

The bill modifies present law by providing that the fraud
and negligence penalties are not to apply in the case of a
negligent or fraudulent failure to file a return. Instead, the
bill provides that in the case of a fraudulent or intentional
failure to file a return, the failure to file penalty is to be
increased to 15 percent of the net amount of tax due for each
month that the return is not filed, up to a maximum of 5 months
or 75 percent.

Failure to make timely deposits of tax

The bill also modifies the penalty for the failure to make
timely deposits of tax in order to encourage depositors to
correct their failures. Under the bill, a depositor is subject
to a penalty equal to 2 percent of the amount of the
underpayment if the failure is corrected on or before the date
that is 5 days after the prescribed due date. A depositor is
subject to a penalty equal to 5 percent of the amount of the
underpayment if the failure is corrected after the date that is
5 days after the prescribed due date but on or before the date
that is 15 days after the prescribed due date. Finally, a
depositor is subject to a penalty equal to 10 percent of the
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amount of the underpayment if the failure is not corrected on or
before the date that is 15 days after the due date. As under
present law, no penalty is to be imposed if the failure to make
a timely deposit is due to reasonable cause and not willful
neglect. The bill also repeals the present-law 25 percent
penalty on overstated deposit claims.

Effective Dates

The modification to the failure to file penalty applies to
returns the due date for which (determined without regard to
extensions) is after December 31, 1989. The modification to the
penalty for the failure to make timely deposits of tax applies
to deposits that are required to be made after December 31,
1989.


